Radius: Off
km Set radius for geolocation

Kogi Quick Guide


Popularly called the confluence state due to the fact that the confluence of Rivers Niger and Benue occurs there.  Its capital is Lokoja. There are three main ethnic groups in Kogi: Igala, Ebira, and Okun.

Kogi State was carved out of Benue and Kwara States on August 27, 1991. It contains twenty one (21) local government areas.


Kogi State is the most centrally located of all the states of the federation.  It shares common boundaries with Niger, Kwara, Nassarawa and The Federal Capital Territory to the north. To the East, the state is bounded by Benue and Enugu states, to the south by Enugu and Anambra States, and to the west by Ondo, Ekiti and Edo states.


Kogi State connects the Federal Capital Territory with 22 Southern States. Being in close proximity to the federal capital territory, Abuja International Airport serves as the national and international gateway for air travellers from and to the state.


Find shopping centers and malls, grocery stores, markets.

Where to Go

  • European colonial cemeteries.
  • World war cenotaph
  • Agbaja plateau.
  • Eganja warm spring
  • Royal Niger company flag
  • First prison in Northern Nigeria
  • Ita-Okueta weaving
  • Kpata rock

Must See

  • The Inikpe statue
  • Iron of Liberty
  • The confluence of River Niger and River Benue
  • Osome Falls located in Ukpogo
  • Mount Patti
  • Holy Trinity school Lokoja. This school was established in 1860 by Bishop Ajayi Crowther.
  • Awo tunnel, a former refuge for the royal family in times of war
  • Koto Karifi, Okene which is said to be a fishing paradise
  • Late Attah of Ebira’s palace, a modern and ancient architecture wonder.
  • Lord Luggard’s first residence and office in Nigeria.

Find it in Kogi

Hotels, Restaurants, Schools, Markets, Clothing, Banks

Print Friendly, PDF & Email