Radius: Off
km Set radius for geolocation

Sokoto Quick Guide


A state (North-Western) based in Sokoto was established in 1967. This covered what is now Niger State, which was split off in 1976, Kebbi State (split off in 1991), and Zamfara State, which was split off in 1996.

The name Sokoto (which is the modern/anglicised version of the local name, Sakkwato) is of Arabic origin, representing suk, “market”. It is also known as Sakkwato, Birnin Shaihu da Bello or “Sokoto, Capital of Shaihu and Bello”). Sokoto State consists of twenty-three (23) Local Government Areas.


Sokoto State lies to the north-west of Nigeria and shares its borders with Niger Republic to the North, Katsina State to the East, Niger State to the South-East, Kwara State to the South and Benin Republic to the West.


Sadiq Abubakar III International Airport or Sultan Saddik Abubakar Airpor is the only airport serving Sokoto, a city in the Sokoto State of Nigeria.

Need a place to stay, find numerous hospitality industries (Hotels) which are located all over the State.


Find shopping centers and malls, grocery stores, markets.

Must See

  • The sultan of sokoto’s palace
  • Hubbaren shehu (tomb of shehu usman dan fodio
  • Waziri junaidu history and culture bureau
  • Gilbadi rock formation
  • Goronyo and luku dams
  • Romon sarki
  • Kware lake
  • Wurno lakes
  • Sokoto museum of monument

Find it in Sokoto

Hotels, Restaurants, Schools, Markets, Clothing, Banks

Print Friendly, PDF & Email